Chicken Tenders and Mac ‘n Cheese

Oven backed chicken tenders, macaroni and cheese, and green beans.
Oven backed chicken tenders, macaroni and cheese, and green beans.

I choose this meal because of the starch in the macaroni and cheese and the breading on the chicken. You should add more water to anything that is breaded and anything with starch in it because if you blend with the normal amount of water you usually use, it will make the blender run hard and the food will be too thick to go through any tube. This is from my experience with blending this meal and other starches.

Broken up pieces of food in the blender ready to go.
Broken up pieces of food in the blender ready to go.
Notice how high the food level gets when the blender is running.
Notice how high the food level gets when the blender is running.

If for some reason you blended food is too thick after you blend it up, just add warm water, stir and put it in the microwave for 1½ minutes. If you blend up food and you put it in the refrigerator and it gets too thick from being in the cold, do what I said above and you will be ok. The other thing you will notice is the color of the food blended up in the container. It will turn the predominate color of the meal, like green for anything green in the vegetable line. Orange for sweet potatoes and orange for carrots. Don’t get alarmed as it is all good and won’t hurt you.

It's OK to be green.
It’s OK to be green.

When I first started blending, I waited for 2 months and wrote an email to my friends and family to describe what I was doing. They were all amazed at what I had done. I printed off copies of my email and took it to my doctors and gave it to them. They all were impressed and thanked me. One doctor said he appreciated it because his patients asked him for advice and he had very little to tell them because no one had shared anything with him. When my wife and I went back to see him, he said he had given my email to a few of his patients and it had helped them. That made my wife and me feel good. I then told him this.

When my sister came to see me, I made her stick her finger in what I had blended, after I told her to smell it first, and then asked her if she knew what it was. She was nervous and I could tell she had a hard time thinking about what food was on the plate and how it got to the blended form that I showed her.

My wife and I talked about it and she said we need to write a blog with pictures, so sighted people can see what things are before, during, and after blending. Being visually impaired, I notice smell and taste before what I can see. My doctors loved that idea so that is how this blog came to be.

If you have any questions, leave a comment and I will respond.

Blind Blender Man

One comment

Leave a Reply

