Food Hangover

This past weekend was the Super Bowl. We use to have huge parties up until a few years ago. We had to stop for various reasons, health being the main one.

I told my wife I wanted to get some things at the store to celebrate the Super Bowl, even if I was all by myself. It is different now being at a party with one instead of hosting a party for up to 125. Well we went by the store and I got some of my favorite things. I got some 7 layer bean dip, some chocolate cupcakes, a big chocolate chip cookie. I did have beer on hand and I decided that margaritas would be good as well.

The pictures show what I blended up and what it looked like after it was blended. I took the seven layer bean dip, added tortilla scoops to the dip, and blended them all together. My wife came in the room and said I can smell the chips in the dip and they smell good. As for the margaritas, I mixed them with the formula: 3 parts margarita mix, 2 parts simple syrup, and 1 part tequila. I then got out some frozen fruit that included strawberries, mango, peaches, pineapple, bananas, and grapes. Well I blended the fruit with the margarita mixture, and it was quite tasty.

Now I was all set for the game. I got up late on Sunday, which put me late eating breakfast. Then to stay on schedule I ate at one o’clock, thinking this would allow me to start working on my game day snacks around 3 p.m. I had a 32 ounce container of cupcakes, which was the 4 you saw in the pictures. I then got a small 16 ounce container of the chocolate chip cookie out as well. But I wasn’t finished yet.  I got the large container 32 ounce of seven-layer dip out. Last but not least, I added a 12 ounce beer to my buffet. I had all this sitting on my tray. My wife came in and said to me, “Wow! You really have it going on.” Now I started this at 3 p.m. so it was supposed to take me a while to go through this amount of stuff right? Well wrong! I took the lids off all the containers in front of me and settled back. I took a syringe out of the cookies, then the dip, then the cupcakes, then the beer. Man, it was good going in. I just kept doing this and was really loving it because I was pumping things in and not eating them. Well my wife came in the room about a little after 4 and said, “You ate all that?” I said yes. She looked at me like I was crazy. Well I finished up all the snacks I had in front of me.

I didn’t feel bad and at half time, I went in to the kitchen and pulled out dinner. We had gone to Outback and got steak, potatoes, and broccoli. Well, I pumped in 16 ounces of that as well. Then at 9 p.m., I went and got an 8 ounce glass and put margaritas in it and pumped that in. Well, I still felt good.

After watching the game and the post-game stuff, I went to bed. It wasn’t very long that I started feeling bad. I felt nauseated all night long. I got up in the morning and I felt bad. I went in to the kitchen and decided to make coffee and pumped that in. I went straight back to bed and got my throw up bucket out. I sure thought I was going to die. My wife started counting up the number of ounces I had put in my system in such a short time. She said, “You never eat that much in one day. What were you thinking?” Well I got caught up in the spirit if things and remembered back the way it used to be and thought I could still do it. Well wrong.

Because I need to add different things to my body like water, salt, sugar, and iron, I should figure out when I get up in the morning what food I need to get me going for the day. On Sunday, I threw caution to the wind and went for broke. I had too many different chemicals fighting in my stomach, which made me sick as a dog. I never threw up but I felt worse than if I had had a real hangover. My wife told me I had a food hangover and she was right. I finally got rid of all my excess eaten food by Monday night and told my wife I was never going to do that again. What it reminds me of is when I had chemo years earlier, I would tell my friends I could do something, but by body wouldn’t allow me to do it. I had to figure out what I could do and not do. Now after all these years later I have to figure how much I can pump in at one time and what it needs to be.

I can tell you I really learned a lesson. Just because you have tube and you can eat like others, you can’t do like others. I don’t want to ever feel like that again. Take my advice and don’t do it. I should have had just a little of a couple things and not everything.

Happy Blending

Blind Blender Man

Leave a Reply

