Quesadillas and Corn

sam_7702

I chose this meal because when you can’t go out for Mexican, it is an easy meal to fix and everyone loves Mexican.

I make my own quesadillas and freeze them. Here is how I make mine. I get a large pan get some salsa, Lawry’s Baja Chipotle sauce, black beans and rice, Fajita chicken or steak, onions, assorted peppers, my home-grown cilantro, shredded pepper jack and cheddar cheeses, and I sneak a little of my home-made salsa in there as well. I mix everything up and take a spoon and spread the mixture on flour tortilla shells that are laid out on foil pieces on the counter. I wrap them up in their foil packets and place them in a freezer bag with 10 to a bag. My wife will label them so I know what it is when I go to the freezer. I usually make about 80 at a time.

When I am going to fix the quesadillas for dinner, I take them out of the freezer a day before and put them in the refrigerator to thaw for the following night’s meal. I place the quesadillas on a pan I have sprayed with cooking spray and put them in the oven on low broil until they start to get brown. I then turn them over and brown the other side. It only takes a few minutes to cook them. I top them with a mixture of enchilada sauce and the Baja Chipotle sauce and add shredded cheddar and pepper Jack cheese place them back in the broiler for a few minutes until the cheese is melted.

Before blending you must make sure all food stuffs are cool to the touch because the blending hot foods could blow the lid off. Add only cold water. Remember you can always heat the blended food in the microwave.

I fix corn with this meal is because there is already beans and rice in the quesadillas so adding the corn gives it a good taste.

The reason I fix so many quesadillas at a time is that I take them tailgating as well fix them for dinner at home.  I cook them on the grill, also.  If you want them soft, I just lay them on the grill. But if you want them hard, I take a flat cast iron griddle to cook them on.

I grow my own peppers and cilantro and make my own salsa. I usually grow about 8 different kinds if I can find them. The most I have ever grown is 12 different kinds.

Happy Blending

Blind Blender man

 

One comment

Leave a Reply

